Sherlock Holmes: The Comedy

Pucker up, Watson!

Pucker up, Watson!

Just when I thought my little heart couldn’t handle any more Sherlock Holmes excitement, I’ve been given some potentially devastating news: Judd Apatow is producing a “comedy” based on the classic detective, featuring almost-past-his-prime funnyman Will Ferrell and Sacha Baron Cohen (aka Borat aka Bruno aka Ali G).

Don’t get me wrong, I love both actors. And, despite having spawned a tiresome genre of movies about bumbling man-boy stoners, I can’t totally criticize Apatow either. The problem is that I just…well…I don’t like mixing geek stuff with dork stuff. We’re talking about apples and oranges here—Sherlock Holmes as a slapstick comedy?! I don’t think so.

From what I can tell, the project is still in the very preliminary stages and doesn’t even have a name. I’ll have to do some more sleuthing of my own and investigate further.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment